• Banner
    About The SWAC Championship
    About SWAC

    Founded in 1920, the Southwestern Athletic Conference - made up of historically black colleges and universities - and its members are committed to the philosophy of maintaining intercollegiate athletics as an integral part of the overall educational program. The conference believes in and subscribes to the fundamental principles of amateurism, institutional control, sound academic standards, financial aid, recruiting, and ethical conduct that govern intercollegiate athletics, and the enforcement of rules and regulations as adopted by the NCAA. Sponsoring 18 sports, the SWAC ranks among the elite in the nation in terms of alumni playing with professional sports teams- particularly in football.

    SWAC Championship

    The SWAC Football Championship Game began in 1999, with conference teams beginning play in an East-West divisional format, allowing division winners to meet on the field to decide a champion.


    Through an agreement forged with the City of Birmingham, Ala. the Southwestern Athletic Conference staged its first championship game at historic Legion Field.


    On Saturday, December 11, 1999, the Jackson State University Tigers (East Champion) and the Southern University Jaguars (West Champion) kicked off the inaugural Southwestern Athletic Conference Football Championship game. In a thriller, Southern came from behind for a 31-30 win.


    In 18 years of the SWAC Championship Game, nine of the 10 conference schools have earned a berth to play for the title.

    From the Western Division, Grambling State has earned a trip to the championship eight times the most of any SWAC school and posts a 7-1 record.


    Southern has played in the title game five times with a 3-2 record, while Arkansas-Pine Bluff has made two appearances capturing its first outright league title in football in 2012. Prairie View A&M and Texas Southern have each won a title in 2009 and 2010.

    Alabama A&M has represented the Eastern Division five times and posted a 1-4 record in the championship game.


    Alabama State is 1-3 in its four appearances, while Jackson State is 1-4 in four championship games. Mississippi Valley State is the only school that has never appeared in the SWAC Championship Game.


    In May of 2013, The Southwestern Athletic Conference Council of Presidents and Chancellors voted unanimously to relocate the 2013 Toyota SWAC Football Championship to Houston, Texas. The football championship game has been held at NRG Stadium ever since, which is home of the NFL's Houston Texans.


    In June of 2017, it was voted on by the Coucil of Presidents that the SWAC forgo the championship game beginning in the 2018 season to develop the Celebration Bowl.


    The Final Judgement will take place on Saturday, December 2 at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas and will be shown on ESPNU with a 3:30 p.m. kickoff scheduled.


    12.1.18 | Legion Field | Birmingham, Alabama

  • Home
  • About
  • Events
  • News
  • Sponsors
  • Hotels
  • Tickets

  • © 2016 SWAC Championship. All Rights Reserved